Katrina Hoffman. Photo courtesy of the Rasmuson Foundation

Katrina Hoffman, president and CEO of the Prince William Sound Science Center (PWSSC), is one of seven women being honored by the Rasmuson Foundation with a sabbatical award, allowing them three to six months to unplug from demanding jobs with paid time off in 2024. 

Hoffman and the others were selected by the foundation’s sabbatical committee for awards of up to $50,000 for their employers to help cover their salary, travel and other experiences during time off from work, the Rasmuson Foundation announced on Friday. 

Hoffman has served as president and CEO of PWSSC for 12 years, managing the research, education, development, communications, facilities and administrative staff of the center. She recently led a successful $25 million capital campaign to raise funds for a new campus, keeping the project on track even during the COVID-19 pandemic.   

Hoffman said she plans to travel internationally and reconnect with people dear to her, and share new experiences with her husband and young son. 

Other 2024 sabbatical award winners are Alannah Hurley, executive director of United Tribes of Bristol Bay; Jennifer Busch, executive director of Valley Transport in Wasilla; Catherine Moses, tribal administrator of Asa’carsarmiut Tribal Council in Mountain Village; Janice Nightingale, executive director of the Hospice of the Central Peninsula in Soldotna; Teresa Pond, artistic director of Cyrano’s Theatre Company in Anchorage; and Jodi Rodwell, executive director of the Denali Education Center in Talkeetna. 

This year’s cohort is dedicated to their organizations’ missions and led their teams through several changes and growth, and also demonstrated a pressing need for time away and recognized that their organizations will benefit by allowing others to step up, the Rasmusen Foundation said.