18 Alaska Native tribes awarded block grants

Eighteen Alaska Native tribes are among the 49 tribal communities nationally to share in over $52 million in Indian Community Block Grant-American Rescue Plan (ICDBG-ARP) grants announced in early December to prevent, prepare for and respond to the COVID-19 pandemic.

U.S. Housing and Urban Development Deputy Secretary Adrianne Todman made the announcement during the National American Indian Housing Council’s Legal Symposium.

“HUD looks forward to ongoing partnerships with tribal communities to expand equity and opportunity and strengthen nation-to-nation relationships,” she said.

That announcement follows HUD awards of $74 million in ICDBG-ARP grants in November to 68 tribal communities. The American Rescue Plan included a total of $280 million for the ICDBG-ARP program. HUD officials said additional ICDBG-ARP awards on a rolling basis.

Alaska beneficiaries include: Douglas Indian Association, Ketchikan Indian Community, Native Village of Belkofski, Native Village of Tatitlek, Native Village of Tununak Native Village of Unalakleet, Native Village of Wales, New Stuyahok, Newtok Village Council, Northway Village, Nunakauyarmiut, Organized Village of Kasaan, Southcentral Foundation, Village of Aniak, Village of Chefornak, Village of Iliamna, Village of Solomon and the Village of Wainwright.