Nominations period extended for Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards

Nominations remain open until Jan. 28 for the Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards, honoring those who have made significant contributions to ocean sciences, education and resource management in Alaska.

The awards in five categories from the Alaska SeaLife Center, will be presented during a virtual event in March.

The $1,000 Walter J. & Ermalee Hickel Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by the late governor and his wife, is for an exceptional contribution to management of Alaska’s coastal and ocean resources over a period of 20 years or more.

The Stewardship & Sustainability Award for the highest commitment to sustainability of ocean resources, is sponsored by Jason Brune.

The Marine Research Award is for a scientist, team of scientists or institution acknowledged by peers to have made an original breakthrough contribution or career spanning achievement in any field of scientific knowledge about Alaska’s oceans. The $500 prize is sponsored by Clarence Pautzke and Maureen McCrea.

The Marine Science Outreach Award for outstanding contributions to ocean literacy, with a $500 cash prize, is sponsored by the Alaska Ocean Observing System.


The Hoffman-Greeene Ocean Youth Award honors Alaska youth up to the age of 19 for promoting the understanding and stewardship of Alaska’s oceans. The $500 cash prize is sponsored by Dale Hoffman.

Make a nomination for any of these awards at or email [email protected].