2017 Tipoff Tournament Awards Summary

Girls Awards

First Place:  Dimond JV Girls

Second Place:  Cordova Wolverines

Sportsmanship Award:  Dimond JV Girls

All Tournament Team:  Ali Nageak, Ariyanna Camacho & Gillan Huss, Dimond JV;  Edrea Navarro, Riley Butler, & Leigha Peebles, Cordova;  Kayla Villamor, Unalaska; Hannah Cole, Eielson

MVP:  Edrea Navarro, Cordova

Boys Awards

First Place:  Unalaska Raiders


Second Place:  Eielson Ravens

Sportsmanship Award:  Unalaska Raiders

All Tournament Team:  Carter Price & Trevor Wilson, Unalaska;  Austin Murphy & Jerimiah Brown, Eielson;  Andrew Werner & Andrew Muma, Cordova; Dyland Swinton & Hudson Sage, Haines

MVP:  Carter Price, Unalaska

Skills Competition

Free Throw:  Girls:  Michaella Smathers, Eielson;  Boys:  Mathew Scarboro, Eielson

Hot Spot:  Girls:  Leigha Peebles, Cordova; Boys:  Kaiden Graves, Cordova

Three Point:  Girls:  Ariyanna Camacho, Dimond JV;  Boys:  Trevor Wilson, Unalaska

Previous article56th annual Iceworm Festival is ready to rock
Next articleObituary: Kristina Clark
Dick Shellhorn
Dick Shellhorn is a lifelong Cordovan. He has been writing sports stories for the Cordova Times for over 50 years. In his Cordova Chronicles features, he writes about the history and characters of this Alaska town. Alaska Press Club awarded Shellhorn first place for Best Humor column in 2016 and 2020, and third place in 2017 and 2019. He also received second place for Best Editorial Commentary in 2019. Shellhorn has written two books about Alaska adventures: Time and Tide and Balls and Stripes. Reach him at [email protected].